We use the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework to ensure we are meeting the individual needs of each child. This ensures we are providing a safe and secure learning environment and that children are provided with opportunities to meet these goals. There are seven areas of learning that are included in the EYFS. These are broken down into 3 prime and 4 specific areas.

Prime Areas

  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Communication and Language Development (CLD)

Specific Areas

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematics (M)
  • Understanding The World (UTW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Special Carer System

When your child/children begin their nursery journey with us they are assigned a Special Carer. The Special Carer will be your first point of contact and will be there to comfort and reassure you and your child. They will be responsible for all your child’s care and emotional needs. During the settling in sessions they will complete a care plan with you and continue to monitor the child’s progress.

Each Special Carer uses iconnect to compile development records to support assessments; which also includes a time line, showing observations which will show your child’s progress through the early years of development. Observations can be accessed through Parent Zone and a copy of the child’s Individual Leaning Plans will be shared with you within nursery. This can then be taken with your child when they begin School and will also act as a memento of their Nursery Life.

Letters And Sounds

The Letters and Sounds program is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education. It aims to build children’s speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge. Children will begin this when they enter our Pre-School and will continue to enhance this in their early years at school. Starting with phase 1, progressing onto the first initial sounds S,A,T,P,I,N.

Phase One (Nursery And Reception)

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two (Reception)

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search